And So I Look

It is dark

But it’s not too late.

The evening is cool

As I drive along alone

Beneath the blackened sky

Like a reflection, an echo

The music sways and swoons

And soars and I along with it

A welcome distraction

From the perfect metaphor

Distinctly synonymous

For the darkness

That envelopes me

And everything I am

And it’s crushing

It’s choking

There’s no way out

I can’t go on

I can’t

I won’t

That’s it

The end

It’s over

Goodbye

No

I can

I will

I must

I must try

I must look

I will look

And so I look

And I see

It is dark

But it is not too late.
© Kris Blackburn 20/07/2017

One thought on “And So I Look

Leave a Reply

