No Such Reason

How apt right now

As I lay in darkness

While the slow yet

Haunting, melodious

Meticulous

Piano notes

Play over my soul

Spread out

Stretched bare

In a spotlight of anxiety

On a barren and

Featureless floor

For all to see

That no one sees

That goes

Unnoticed

Silently passes

Like a mist

A ghost invisible

Presenceless

A book unread

A song unheard

A doll unloved

So I go on

So as I live

Unless I find another

Single reason

To continue

For I am

No such reason.
© Kris Blackburn 13/09/16

Leave a Reply

