Never Ending Night

Enveloped

Blanketed

A darkness

That covers

That binds

By bonding

Like threads

In a quilt

Sewn tight

Unforgiving

Unrelenting

No stars

In this my midnight

Forever

A blackness perpetual

Continuing fear

A horror

Unspoken

That churns

The stomach

Until all the acid

Burns my throat

In terror

Of all I know

And all I am

And this I see

Is nothing

No horizon

Behind which

The sun will rise

For this is it

And this is

Everything

That I will ever have

No light

No stars

To guide me now

No Milky Way

To track my steps

To reflect upon

It is just

This

And nothing

Is everything

Is all I have

And all I know

This

Never ending night.
© Kris Blackburn 05/09/16

2 thoughts on “Never Ending Night

Leave a Reply

