Sonata of Sacrifice

I appear before the altar,

My eyes are glazed,

The others are returning,

They appear to be dazed.

 

Who will be the chosen one?

Who will be sacrificed?

Who will be told the same old story

About the pleasant paradise?

 

I’ve been to all the self-help groups

I’ve been to all the counselling.

I’ve been to everywhere I can think

To try and find an offering.

 

I stand above the cataract

And view its crystal waters

I recite the book and find the time

To sacrifice my daughters.

 

I’ve offered up my foreskin

And witnessed the cataclysm

That comes about after

I’ve been for circumcision.

 

I sit alone and read aloud

My sonata of sacrifice

And as I survey what I’ve done

I want to go to paradise.

 

© Kris Blackburn 31/10/2001

Leave a Reply

