Of My Own Making

This brain of mine keeps

Staying awake

Stopping my sleeps

What will it take?

 

What affliction have I

Allowing runaway

Carefree, why

Can’t I just say?

 

Prisoner trapped herein

Such mindscapes

Of my own making

With no escapes.

 

I’m drawn to you

Like a moth to a flame

It’s just what I do

I portion no blame.

 

I can’t tell you

For it will sound,

Though so true,

Like I’ve drowned.

 

No control have I

So I’m spinning

Though I try

To keep grinning.

 

To sleep perchance

To dream maybe

Though happenstance

You’re all I see.

 

© Kris Blackburn 06/09/2015

One thought on “Of My Own Making

Leave a Reply

