I Know

Thump thump thump

It beats and I don’t care how

I just care that it beats

And funny how you say

That it beats wrong

When mine never beated right

Anyway.

Anyway.

I’m sorry.

You may not forgive me

I may not deserve it.

My rhythm bears no beats

As broken as those

That we beat together.

Only ours can beat that way.

Thump thump thump

There it goes again.

Like a broken clock

Telling one time only:

Our time, the time

When our hearts beat

Best.

Whenever we speak.

Harmonious.

Rhapsodical.

Melodious.

Thump thump thump.


© Kris Blackburn 31/08/2015

One thought on “I Know

Leave a Reply

